Struggleville Forum
Corded vs cordless skill saw? - Printable Version

+- Struggleville Forum (https://struggleville.net/forum)
+-- Forum: Shop Talk (https://struggleville.net/forum/forum-12.html)
+--- Forum: Enter The Shop (https://struggleville.net/forum/forum-13.html)
+--- Thread: Corded vs cordless skill saw? (/thread-89.html)

Corded vs cordless skill saw? - Andrew - 05-27-2020

I've been working for a builder for just over 2 months and I'm at the point where I need my own skill saw. 

I'm torn between the Milwaukee rear handle saw:
https://homedepot.sjv.io/c/222435/456723/8154?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.homedepot.com%2Fp%2FMilwaukee-M18-FUEL-18-Volt-Lithium-Ion-Cordless-7-1-4-in-Rear-Handle-Circular-Saw-Tool-Only-2830-20%2F309245503

And this corded skill saw:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00B7EUS46/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&linkCode=ll1&tag=shopstruggleville-20&linkId=3c2e5fcc9b83f7a00f75240928523a2d&language=en_US

Honestly I'll probably end up with both eventually, but which one would at least be the better pick to start with at least?

Also curious to see between corded/cordless for everyone's preference!

RE: Corded vs cordless skill saw? - Yukon - 05-27-2020

I voted cordless just because it’s so darn convenient. 

Having said that, there is an ancient Worm-drive Skil saw at my shop which will probably still be around post-apocalypse. It’s heavier than hell, but it’s a beast.

RE: Corded vs cordless skill saw? - MiscellaneousDave - 05-27-2020

I never thought I would see the day where I would ever say cordless. These companies have really come a long, long, long way with cordless things. There are probably times where corded is better, but I feel like 99% of the time most people can easily get away with cordless doing the job just fine. Worst case scenario, you would just need to have extra batteries with you for the most demanding user (and a charger).

RE: Corded vs cordless skill saw? - Orion1876 - 05-27-2020